*Stephanie at Throwing Marshmallows had the same reaction I did when I read a recent NY Times article about Michael Phelps and expresses her thoughts in About That ADHD Serving a Purpose Thing. I appreciate the hope that his story gives to parents and students, but his experience in school highlights how the educational model that is so common in our school system is not a good fit for all students. I agree with Stephanie:

“My belief is that all kids have their own gifts and I feel that homeschooling is an excellent way to help kids explore and find their passions. Because I can tailor our approach to how my kids learn, we can focus on their strengths. This does not mean that we ignore their weaknesses, just that they are not the sole focus of our schooling.”

*In 19 Can-Do Nature Walk Variations, April at Bringing Up Learners shares some great ideas for making the most of nature walks. You would think that growing up on a farm and playing outside and climbing in trees for such a considerable part of my childhood would make nature walking seem natural to me, but it isn’t. (Jane Claire Lambert’s seasonal nature studies provide more ideas.)

*See my previous post, DIY for Kids, to find out about the kids’ projects offered at Lowe’s and Home Depot on weekends. (Here’s a photo of the Lowe’s Build and Grow project my daughter made a few weeks ago. A pipe cleaner is enough to keep her younger sister out of the locker!) A similar program for arts and crafts has just started at Michael’s—The Knack, which aims to inspire creativity in kids with craft projects designed just for them. According to the web site, “kids ages 5-12 will create their own fun craft for only $5 per child, including supplies. The Knack Saturdays have 30 minute sessions at 10, 10:30, 11 or 11:30 am.” Michael’s also has free family events and demonstrations. Some of the upcoming classes and projects look fun!

One response to “links

  1. Great information here! Love your blog. On my way to see what else you have to share. :)

Leave a Reply

