May Day Baskets

This week’s edition of Works for Me Wednesday is a Greatest Hits Edition. Since I’ve been getting quite a few hits on my other blog about May Day Baskets recently, I chose this tip from last spring to replay here, including a few updated links.

When I was a little girl, I made May baskets on May 1 at Grandma S’s house for the neighbors. We used green strawberry baskets with some ribbon and pipe cleaners woven into them and made cuttings from her many flower beds. In some of my grade school classes we also made May baskets by weaving construction paper hearts and forming them into a cone or stapling paper plates together and decorating them. Traditionally, you hang a May basket on someone’s door handle, ring the doorbell, and run away before they see you. I don’t think it’s a common tradition these days, although it might depend on what part of the country you’re in. This year our family is going to use this old-fashioned holiday as an opportunity to talk to our neighbors if possible rather than leaving baskets anonymously. There are several widows and older couples in our neighborhood, so we’re going to make a few baskets with flowers and small treats for them. I found several links with some great ideas for baskets. Why not celebrate spring and being a good neighbor this year by giving away a May basket or two?

May Day Baskets

Charming May Day Baskets

Recycled May Basket
May Baskets
DLTK’s May Day Basket for Kids
May Day Baskets
Hanging May Baskets

For more ideas, see my follow-up post, More May Day Baskets.

5 responses to “May Day Baskets

  1. That’s a lovely idea! I have a neighbor I’m sure would love that.

  2. What a neat idea! Just the thing for meeting some neighbors :)

  3. We just remembered tonight that it was May Day tomorrow (I had known it was going to be May, just hadn’t thought about it being the holiday). Several years we have done May baskets, the kids love it and we too use it as a time to meet neighbors and encourage older (or just any age) friends. As we live in northern MN we don’t have much in the way of flowers blooming (we still have snow) but we often put homemade cookies in our baskets.
    Have a happy May Day!

  4. I did that to my neighbor and 8 of my friends this morning. I never got kissed… YAY

Leave a Reply

